Indian Railway Zones - Information About All Railway Zones In India

Indian Railways has spread a vast network ofRailwaytracks all over the country. Whether it's some developed metropolitan city or a remote village, Indian Railways is giving continuous efforts to serve rail users in every nook and corner of the country. The widespread rail network is divided into sixteen zones for administrative purposes. Further, each zone is categorized into many divisions. Kolkata Metro, though completely under Indian Railways supervision, still isn't part of any particular zone. Konkan Railways is the latest addition to the Indian railways zones and it's controlled by Railway Board and Railway Ministry

The list of major Indian railway zones is as follows: 

Central Indian Railways: This is the oldest of Indian railway zones and one of the largest of the 16 zones formed by Indian railways. 

Eastern Indian Railways: The Eastern Railway (ER) zone is one of the important Indian Railway zones. With its headquarters in Kolkata, the Eastern Zone is divided further into four divisions namely Mald, Howrah, Asansol and Sealdah for better working. 

Northern Indian RailwaysIt is one of the nine older zones of Indian Railways. New Delhi, the national capital of India serves as headquarters of this Indian Railway Zone. 

Southern Indian Railways: This is the first zone formed after India got liberated from British Rule. Southern Indian Railway Zone was established on April 14, 1951 by combination of always of three states. 

Western Indian RailwaysThis Indian railways zone is amongst the most hustling and lively rail networks of the country. The headquarters of Western Indian Railway is situated in Mumbai city.