Northern Railways - Indian Northern Railway Reservation, Ticket Booking, Seat Availability and Time Table

Travel Home >> Indian Railways >> Indian Railway Zones >> Northern Railways


Indian Northern Railways


The NR is one of the 9 older zones of Indian Railways. The headquarters of Northern Railways are situated in Delhi, the national capital of India. The entire zone is segregated into 5 divisions namely Delhi, Ambala, Lucknow, Ferozpur and Moradabad for better administration. Northern Indian Railway zone is also known for having largest rail routes of about 6807 kilometres under its control continuously even after the streamlining of Indian railways into new structure of zones.

Northern Indian Railway was established on April 14, 1952 after merger of Bikaner Railway, Jodhpur Railway, Eastern Punjab Railway, 3 divisions of Eastern Indian Railway and north-west Mughalsarai. Northern Indian railway embraces states of Punjab, Jammu & Kashmir, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh and Delhi. Apart from this, NR is also renowned worldwide for operating world’s largest RRI (route relay interlocking) at Delhi.

Other major Indian railway zones is as follows:

Central Indian Railways: This is the oldest of Indian railway zones and one of the largest of the 16 zones formed by Indian railways.

Eastern Indian Railways: The Eastern Railway (ER) zone is one of the important Indian Railway zones. With its headquarters in Kolkata, the Eastern Zone is divided further into four divisions namely Mald, Howrah, Asansol and Sealdah for better working.

Southern Indian Railways: This is the first zone formed after India got liberated from British Rule. Southern Indian Railway Zone was established on April 14, 1951 by combination of always of three states.

Western Indian Railways: This Indian railways zone is amongst the most hustling and lively rail networks of the country. The headquarters of Western Indian Railway is situated in Mumbai city.

Book Northern Railways Tickets


Quick Guide Links

  » Indian railways
» Print eTicket
» Ticket Cancellation
» Refund Status
» PNR Status
» Tatkal Reservation
» Seat Availability
» Trains Timetable
» Concessions Rules
» City Info & Overview
» Booking Information
Get Discounts
Help Us Help You
submit your story


Agra Chandigarh Indore Kolkata New Jalpaiguri Puri Visakhapatnam
Ahmedabad Chennai Jaipur Lucknow Ooty Rameswaram Eastern Railways
Amritsar Cochin Jammu Tawi Mangalore Pantnagar Shimla Western Railways
Balasore Dehradun Jhansi Mumbai Pathankot Siliguri Southern Railways
Bangalore Goa Jodhpur Nasik Patna Trivandrum Northern Railways
Bhubaneswar Hyderabad Kathgodam New Delhi and NCR Pune Udaipur Central Railways