Eastern Railways - Indian Eastern Railway Reservation, Ticket Booking, Seat Availability and Time Table

Travel Home >> Indian Railways >> Indian Railway Zones >> Eastern Railways


Indian Eastern Railways


Eastern Indian Railway is also an eminent zone of Indian railways. The zone has its headquarters located in Kolkata. The zone is divided into four parts comprising of Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol and Malda for better management and working. The Eastern Indian railway zone was formed on April 14, 1952, by the merger of the East India railway divisions of Howrah, Sealdah, Danapur and Asansol with Bengal – Nagpur Railway.

In present times, Eastern railways covers 2382.38 km of route. The regions covered by Eastern Indian Railway play a vital role in strengthening the economy of the nation. Besides administration of the country’s most populated area, an Eastern Indian railway is associated with the territory that is immensely prosperous in agriculture, minerals and industry. The 3 main workshops of Eastern Indian Railway are situated in Jamalpur, Kanchrapara and Jamalpur.

Eastern Railways stretches to Bangladesh border in East, whereas Kiul, Lalgoda and Malda in North, Jhajha and Asansol in West and Kakdwip near Ganga Sagar in South. The Eastern Indian railways also runs plentiful high-speed long distance trains so as to accommodate rush of long distance passengers. Rajdhani Express, one of the premium trains of the nation, was first started in 1969 between Howrah and Delhi.

The Railways is also renowned for making most of its rural routes electrified, and few routes which aren’t yet electrified, are served by Diesel Multiple Units. The complete originating traffic of Eastern Indian Railway comprise of 86 % of coal. In East India, the chief Industries and Power Houses rely upon the coal encumbered on the Eastern Indian Railway. Besides this, Eastern Indian Railways also transfers Steel, Iron, Tea, Cement, Jute, Textile, Stone and Automobiles etc.

Other major Indian railway zones is as follows:

Central Indian Railways: This is the oldest of Indian railway zones and one of the largest of the 16 zones formed by Indian railways.

Northern Indian Railways: It is one of the nine older zones of Indian Railways. New Delhi, the national capital of India serves as headquarters of this Indian Railway Zone.

Southern Indian Railways: This is the first zone formed after India got liberated from British Rule. Southern Indian Railway Zone was established on April 14, 1951 by combination of always of three states.

Western Indian Railways: This Indian railways zone is amongst the most hustling and lively rail networks of the country. The headquarters of Western Indian Railway is situated in Mumbai city.

Book Eastern Railways Tickets


Quick Guide Links

  » Indian railways
» Print eTicket
» Ticket Cancellation
» Refund Status
» PNR Status
» Tatkal Reservation
» Seat Availability
» Trains Timetable
» Concessions Rules
» City Info & Overview
» Booking Information
Get Discounts
Help Us Help You
submit your story


Agra Chandigarh Indore Kolkata New Jalpaiguri Puri Visakhapatnam
Ahmedabad Chennai Jaipur Lucknow Ooty Rameswaram Eastern Railways
Amritsar Cochin Jammu Tawi Mangalore Pantnagar Shimla Western Railways
Balasore Dehradun Jhansi Mumbai Pathankot Siliguri Southern Railways
Bangalore Goa Jodhpur Nasik Patna Trivandrum Northern Railways
Bhubaneswar Hyderabad Kathgodam New Delhi and NCR Pune Udaipur Central Railways